The Griffin-Woodhouse trademark was registered in the UK in 1947. The company’s logo originally included a hand drawing depicting GWEC’s unique ‘Integral Stud Link Chain’ invented by John Timmington in 1967, but which is sadly no longer manufactured by us.
The GWEC brand is recognised world-wide as a mark of British quality. The acronym stands for ‘Griffin-Woodhouse Electric Cable’ but do not be confused we do indeed manufacture chain, which is historically referred to as ‘chain cable’. The ‘electric’ component refers to the advent of a flash-butt welding method introduced less than 100 years ago meaning, for most of our history chain has been welded or ‘forged’ by hand.
Our new logo presents a contemporary feel, adding depth through subtle modifications whilst remaining true to the original. This new livery will be rolled out fully in the coming weeks.